Art, Artistry, Fine Art, Pop Art, Fake Art, and Pop t’Arts

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder….

What is Art?  

  1. the expression or application of human creative skill and imagination, typically in a visual form such as painting or sculpture, producing works to be appreciated primarily for their beauty or emotional power.
    “the art of the Renaissance”
  2. the various branches of creative activity, such as painting, music, literature, and dance
    “the visual arts”

    This slideshow requires JavaScript.

     What Characteristics and qualities contribute to my definition of art?

    Wow.   I was probably 8 years old the first time I was asked such questions by my art teacher.  Ah, Mrs. Dorman! Her studio always smelled of art – oil and finger paints, glue for paper mache, clay, and tea.  Mrs. Dorman liked tea. I find it interesting that my first impression of art included smell. The moment someone asks me about art, I’m drawn back to the messy, colorful room filled with supplies for us grade school savants!

    Time for a confession that is embarrassing, but no big secret to my family and friends.  I have about as much talent to produce art as my dog.  Although given the opportunity and some paints, he probably would outdo my best attempts.  As a child, my mother lied  assured me I had the eye of an old master and the brush strokes of Rembrandt.boy-with-finger-paints

    Years later when she was cleaning out her cedar chest, she made the mistake of handing me some of my pathetic attempts  at creativity and said, “Do you want these?”

    I assured her I did. Then, I went home and threw them away.

    “WHY?!” my mother cried.

    “Uh, mom?  I hate to break this to you, but I was pretty much done with them when I gave them to you. What would I possibly do with them? They’ve been in your cedar chest for 40 years! And frankly, don’t you think it would be embarrassing for me to pull them out and show my friends?”  She couldn’t argue with that considering my crowning moment was creating a macaroni encrusted cigar box, spray painted gold, with a light dusting of glitter.  Yeah, not really that artistic.

    However, focusing on these questions made me realize that I do have ideas, concepts, and feelings about  how I define art.  Most would agree that art means something unique to everyone.

    It’s in the eye eyesof the beholder     

    While my focus here is on visual art, the following concepts go for performance art, literature, songs, architecture, etc.

    The pictures I selected in the slide show are just a smattering of various art works that I am attracted to.  Art must attract me in some way.  It must engage me and hold my interest. I doesn’t have to be aesthetically beautiful, proportional or easily understood. It only has to make me stop. Even the grotesque can be art when it focuses the mind on its possible intent. Art causes me to react.

    contemplative-art-viewing

    Art elicits contemplation

    Art should make me feel something.  Feel what you ask?  Good question – no real answer. When I see an empty candy wrapper on the pavement I don’t think art, but some ingenious artists can see the potential and do this…

    8d1f491906a474c4b47d9d74ce200065

    Art is transformative.  

    Even the most repulsive images can be art.  I may feel uncomfortable with some art, but I understand the importance of feeling something.  A single image can make a complex statement, evoke emotion, create a conversation, confuse, bemuse, infuriate, sedate, or stun.

    www-1

    Art evokes emotion

    Content…context…medium… message…expression…beliefs….

    All of these things can play into our ideas of whether something is art. I try to have an open mind to what an artist has created and remove my personal filters from the equation. This is not always easy with some art, but that’s the challenge it offers the viewer.

    agborago

    Art creates an internal dialogue

    And lastly I believe we all have the capacity express ourselves and create art – gold cigar boxes included. When an expression of the mind is presented in an image, a sound, or an event – art comes to life.  Perhaps the most illusive and overlooked aspect of art is this internal drive to express.  Often, we think only of how art affects us.  Some times the purpose of art is not to be seen, understood, or enjoyed by others.  The mere creation of the art IS the art. And if the artist is somehow lifted, released, encouraged, or silenced by their work….well, that’s art too.

    Art is an external expression of an internal thought

    Traditional-Tattoos-221

    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

    What-is-Art

    To view some interesting ideas of what others think of art, try the following websites:

    What is art?     What does art mean?

    What is art for?

Leave a Reply

